Discussion: View Thread

Please consider nominating someone for the Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

  • 1.  Please consider nominating someone for the Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

    Posted 04-26-2021 17:09




    DUE: May 16, 2021

    Dear Colleagues:

    Nominations are being accepted for the Entrepreneurship Division's 2021 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award. This award honors those who have exhibited long-term and exceptional activities that have significantly advanced the development and/or visibility of the entrepreneurship field. Specifically, the award recognizes activities that significantly advance either: 1) the research, teaching, or practice of entrepreneurship, or 2) the growth, visibility, and effectiveness of the Entrepreneurship Division. 

    The nomination process and selection criteria are provided below. Please consider submitting a nomination for the Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award. The deadline for receiving applications is May 16, 2021.


    Those eligible for the Award shall be either individuals or organizations that have significantly contributed to the advancement of the field of entrepreneurship in one or more of the following ways. No prioritization of contributions is implied in the following list:

    • Developed or enhanced the professionalism, impact or effectiveness of the Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management; AND/OR
    •  Increased the visibility and development of entrepreneurship in the broader society; AND/OR
    • Improved effective communication and collaboration among entrepreneurship researchers, public policy makers and/or practitioner; AND/OR
    • Significantly advanced the research, teaching, and/or practice of entrepreneurship in multiple ways through their career.

    Candidates for the Award will be evaluated according to the relative degree to which they have, throughout their careers or to an exceptional scale, engaged in one or more of the activities described above.


    Nominations for the award will be reviewed in accordance with the above criteria by a special committee convened by the Past Chair of the Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management. Winner will be announced in late June (or early July) and the award will be presented with a plaque in August at the annual meeting of the Academy of Management in Vancouver as in all award categories, the Division reserves the right to not confer an award if adjudicators determine that no award is warranted in a given year. Nominations received in a given year that do not result in an award will automatically be considered for the award in the following year's review cycle as well. However, nominations that do not result in an award for two consecutive years must be re-nominated to be considered again. Re-nominations are welcome, provided they are accompanied by up-to-date documentation.


    To nominate an individual for the Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award, a complete packet of supporting documentation should be submitted to Dawn R. DeTienne dawn.detienne@colostate.edu no later than Sunday, May 16, 2021.  The complete packet must include:

    1. A letter of nomination that identifies the candidate, the individual(s) making the nomination, and lists the supporting documentation included.
    2. A copy of the candidate's Curriculum Vita, if the nominee is an individual.
    3. A detailed listing of the candidate's activities that are relevant to the award criteria, with a statement of how the activities relate to one or more of the criteria above.

    Whether or not the packet materials are obtained directly from the candidate, it is the responsibility of the person(s) writing the nomination letter to ensure that the nomination package is complete.

    Previous Winners Include- (note that three types of awards have been consolidated since 2012 under the "Dedication" title):



    Charles Hofer

    1989 Outstanding Contributions Award

    Ned Heizer

    1992 Advocacy Award

    Karl Vesper

    1993 Advocacy Award

    Price-Babson Fellows

    1994 Advocacy Award

    Coleman Foundation

    1995 Advocacy Award

    Jerry Katz

    Elizabeth Gatewood

    1995 Extraordinary Service Award

    1996 Advocacy Award

    Donald Sexton

    1997 Advocacy Award

    Gerald Hills

    1998 Advocacy Award

    Charles Hofer

    1999 Advocacy Award

    Kauffman Center

    2000 Advocacy Award

    George Solomon

    2001 Advocacy Award

    Max Wortman

    2005 Advocacy Award

    Denny Dennis

    2006 Advocacy Award

    Donald Kuratko

    2007 Advocacy Award

    Charles Hofer

    2007 Extraordinary Service Award

    Timothy Reed

    2007 Extraordinary Service Award

    Kelly Shaver

    2007 Extraordinary Service Award

    Paul D. Reynolds

    2012 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

    D. Ray Bagby

    2013 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

    Michael H. Morris

    2014 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

    Candida Brush

    2016 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

    Michael Frese

    2016 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

    William Gartner

    2016 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

    Dean A. Shepherd

    2017 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

    Norris Krueger

    2020 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award



    Dawn R. DeTienne, ENT Past Division Chair

    Dawn DeTienne
    Colorado State University
    Fort Collins CO
    (970) 631-5930