Discussion: View Thread

Entrepreneurship Practice Award 2022: Extended Call for Nominations

  • 1.  Entrepreneurship Practice Award 2022: Extended Call for Nominations

    Posted 06-24-2022 11:47

    Announcement from the Entrepreneurship Division Practitioner-Scholars Committee

    Entrepreneurship Practice Award 2022: Extended Call for Nominations -- due no later than July 8th, 2022

    Nominations are still being accepted for the 2022 Entrepreneurship Practice Award. This award is valued at $1,000 and recognizes contributions directly relevant to the practice of entrepreneurship, in any of three categories, and is a complement to the current set of awards offered by the Entrepreneurship Division.

    Award Criteria

    The Award will be granted to individuals who have contributed to the practice of entrepreneurship in any one of the following categories:

    1.     Contribution to scholarship practice: Authored a publication (for example, a published book or article) deemed to have been especially effective at advancing the practice of entrepreneurship, and at least one author is a member of the Academy of Management (AOM). The criteria include, but are not limited to, the quality of the publication evidence of impact on publications (including citations in both scholarly and mainstream publications and media), impact on the legislative process (local or federal), and influence on entrepreneurship practice in the field.

    2.     Contribution to field experience: Developed an educational project or program designed to bridge the gap between scholarship and practice.  This could be within a degree curriculum, co-curricular or extra-curricular. Submissions should describe the initiative, its objectives, its implementation and results.  Criteria include: the targeted audience, the originality of the program, its impact on its target community.  External validation of the results will be given significant weight.

    3.     Contribution to community: Led a successful initiative to support the development of entrepreneurship in a specific community. Criteria include, the needs of the community, the degree of innovation of in the initiative, measures of success, impact on the community, external awards and endorsements.

    While multiple authors/developers can be nominated for an Award, at least one group member must be a member of AOM.

    How to Nominate a Candidate:

    Send an email to the chair of the Entrepreneur Division's Practitioner-Scholars Committee, Ken Grant (kagrant@ryerson.ca) by July 8th, 2022.

    The complete nomination should be contained in a PDF or MS Doc file.

    Applications should be no more than 1,000 words, excluding supporting documentation, and should include:

    1.     The name and contact information of nominator(s)

    2.     The name(s) and contact information of the individual(s) being nominated

    3.     The primary category of the contribution

    4.     An explanation of the nominee's role and work in the contribution

    5.     An explanation of how the work addresses the criteria for the award.
    Self-nominations are acceptable, as are nominations from members of the AOM community – a nominee does not need to be a member of the ENT division but should be a member of AOM.

    Award Review Process

    A special committee convened by the Chair of the Entrepreneur Practitioner-Scholars Committee of the Entrepreneurship Division will review all nominations and determine awards in accordance with the above criteria. The committee will include people with expertise in both scholarship and practice. Winners will be announced when the award is presented in August at the annual meeting of the Academy of Management in Seattle.


    Dr. Kenneth A. Grant
    Department of Entrepreneurship & Strategy
    Ted Rogers School of Management
    (Formerly known as Ryerson University)
    1-416-979-5000 x554157