Mentor Award

Mentor Award 2021: Call for Nominations (Due: June 6, 2021)

Nominations are being accepted for the Entrepreneurship Division’s 2021 Mentor Award. Given to an individual who has provided exceptional mentoring of entrepreneurship scholars, this award recognizes exceptional mentoring activities at all educational levels in the field of entrepreneurship. The field of entrepreneurship includes, but is not limited to, the areas of individual entrepreneurship, new venture formation, small business management, family business, and corporate entrepreneurship.
The nomination process and selection criteria are provided below. Please consider submitting a nomination for the Mentor Award. The deadline for receiving applications is June 6, 2021.

Selection Criteria

In order of importance, the Award seeks to honor:

1.  Mentoring in Doctoral or Post-Doctoral Education in Entrepreneurship
Given the lack of full-time Ph.D. programs in the field, the future development and growth of the field is exceedingly dependent on the ad hoc efforts of interested graduate educators. Such individuals help identify promising doctoral students and post-doctoral candidates, interest them in the field, nurture their development in research and professional roles, and provide moral, social, and intellectual support to new entrants to the field in the early stages of their careers.
2. Mentoring Activities in MBA and Undergraduate Education in Entrepreneurship
Although the principal purpose of the Award is to honor doctoral and post-doctoral mentoring activities, not every potential mentor has the opportunity to do this. Therefore, individuals with truly exceptional records mentoring MBA, undergraduate, or other non-doctoral entrants to the field over sustained periods may also be considered as candidates for the Award. 

Candidates for the Award will be evaluated according to the relative degree to which they have, throughout their careers, engaged in the mentoring activities described above. Primary consideration will be given to mentoring at the doctoral and post-doctoral levels. This Award is not meant to recognize research productivity, advocacy activities in the field, personal longevity in the field, or other non-mentoring types of service in professional organizations of the field. 

Selection Process

Nominations for the award will be reviewed in accordance with the above criteria by a special committee convened by the Chair of the Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management. Winners will be announced in late June (or early July) and will be presented with a plaque in August at the annual meeting of the Academy of Management. As in all award categories, the Division reserves the right to not confer an award if adjudicators determine that no award is warranted in a given year. Typically, we recognize one winner per year. Nominations received in a given year that do not result in an award will automatically be considered for an award during the following year’s review cycle as well. However, nominations that do not result in an award for two consecutive years must be re-nominated to be considered further. Such re-nominations are welcome, provided they are accompanied by up-to-date documentation.

Nomination Requirements

To nominate an individual for the Mentor Award, a complete packet of supporting documentation should be submitted to Dawn R. DeTienne ( no later than Sunday, June 6th 2021.  The complete packet must include:

  1. A letter of nomination that identifies the candidate, the individual(s) making the nomination, and lists the supporting documentation included.
  2. A copy of the candidate’s Curriculum Vita.
  3. A detailed listing of the mentoring activities at the doctoral and post-doctoral level (or an explicit statement that such activities do not exist).
  4. A detailed listing of the mentoring activities at the MBA or undergraduate level (or an explicit statement that such activities do not exist).
  5. Letters of support from individuals who can describe the nature of the mentoring received from the candidate. These are essential and weigh heavily. 

Whether or not the packet materials are obtained directly from the candidate, it is the responsibility of the person(s) writing the nomination letter to ensure that the nomination package is complete.

Previous Winners

Howard Aldrich
David Audretsch
Candida Brush
Lowell Busenitz
Arnold Cooper
Jeff Covin
Per Davidsson
Marc Gruber
Frank Hoy
Charles Hofer
Jerome A. Katz
Don Kuratko
Tom Lumpkin
Ian MacMillan
Sophie Manigart
Charles H. Matthews
Dale Meyer
Harry Sapienza
Dean Shepherd
Howard Stevenson
Johan Wiklund
Mike Wright
Max Wortman
Andrew Zacharakis
Shaker Zahra


Dawn R. DeTienne
ENT Past Division Chair

Committee Members

Dawn R. DeTienne (ENT Past Division Chair)