Innovation in Pedagogy Award

Innovation in Pedagogy Award 2021: Call for Nominations

The Academy of Management Entrepreneurship Division and Yeshiva University

Present the

Innovation in Entrepreneurship Pedagogy Award

The Academy of Management Entrepreneurship Division and Yeshiva University present an annual award ($1500) to the person(s) who develops and implements an innovation in entrepreneurship pedagogy for either graduate or undergraduate education. The innovation must be a full course that is focused on entrepreneurship. (Although innovations in a program of courses or in individual exercises are valuable, they will not be considered for this award.)

The purpose of the award is to encourage not only innovations in pedagogy, but also the dissemination of such innovations. Criteria for evaluation of nominations include (1.) the innovativeness and novelty of the content and pedagogical process; (2.) the demonstrated and potential impact and transferability; and (3.) the course’s relevance (e.g., actionable lessons for entrepreneurs, addresses a social need).

Self-nomination proposals are encouraged! Nominations should include the following materials:

  1. A 100-word abstract of the innovation.
  2. A 3-5 page description of the innovation, including why it is novel, impactful/transferable, and relevant.
  3. Supporting exhibits, including supporting letters from students or other educators who have experienced or used the new pedagogy. (Please limit this to no more than 5 supporting documents. Lengthy supporting documentation is not encouraged.)
  4. If you are resubmitting a course that was nominated in a prior year: Please update/revisit the nomination and make sure to indicate which parts have changed since the last nomination.
Nominations and supporting exhibits should be submitted electronically to the Award Chair, so they can be shared with the Award Committee. Please submit all materials as a single PDF document.

Optional – Submit a short video (max. length 2 minutes, attached to the same email as your PDF nomination) explaining the unique contribution of your course. The video should address why your pedagogical innovation is novel, impactful, and relevant.

Submissions must be received by May 31st, 2021. The winner will be notified by June 18thThe award winner must attend the annual Academy of Management Conference to receive the award at the Entrepreneurship Division Business Meeting. The winning nomination will be posted on the Entrepreneurship Division website and a notice will appear in the Division Newsletter.

Please direct nominations and questions to:
Dean Noam Wasserman – Award Chair
Yeshiva University’s Sy Syms School of Business

Committee Chair

Dean Noam Wassermann (Sy Syms School of Business, Yeshiva University)

Committee Members

  • Abby Fifer Mandell (USC Marshall School of Business)
    Andrew Maxwell (York University)
  • Betsy Campbell (Penn State University)
    Derek B. Lidow (Princeton University)
    Hana Milanov (TUM School of Management)
    Linda Sama (St. John’s University)

    Mattias Nordqvist (Jönköping Int’l B-School, Sweden)
    Philipp Sieger (University of Bern, Switzerland)
    Rachida Justo (IE Business School, Madrid)