Heizer Dissertation Award

Call for Submissions: The 2022 Heizer Doctoral Dissertation Award in New Enterprise Development


The Heizer Doctoral Dissertation Award in New Enterprise Development recognizes and honors outstanding doctoral research in the area of new enterprise development.


The Award highlights research on the founding, financing, management, growth, and development of high potential new ventures, with venture capital investing, or with corporate entrepreneurship. Dissertations addressing small, high-tech ventures may also qualify. Dissertations dealing primarily with small business, family business, minority business, or support systems (other than venture capital) are not appropriate for the Heizer Award (see the NFIB Award Call).


The Award consists of a cash prize of $1,500 and a plaque commemorating the winner’s achievement.

  1. Fit with the specific focus of the Heizer Award as described above.
  2. Overall scholarly quality.
  3. Relevance of the work for the practice of new enterprise development as defined above. While scholarly quality and fit are the primary criteria, winning dissertations must have well-developed implications for practitioners in the area of new enterprise development.


The 2022 Heizer Award is open to authors who, in the calendar year 2021, completed all requirements for their doctoral degree, as supported by documentation from the awarding institution. This includes any coursework, public defense, revisions, etc. that are required for earning the degree. (Formal ceremonies such as graduation and promotion that are customary, but not required, can take place after 2021.) If some requirements have not been completed by 2021, candidates are encouraged to submit for the 2023 competition.


Submitters should provide electronic documentation of:

1)     Evidence of completion (see “Eligibility” above);

2)     The following three nomination documents:

  1. A cover page containing the dissertation title, the name of the dissertation author, the name of the awarding university, the names of all dissertation committee members, and the date when the dissertation was officially completed.
  2. A one-page dissertation abstract providing a synopsis of the dissertation summary.
  3. A 15-page dissertation summary. The summary should describe the issues and topics studied in the dissertation, with particular attention to the following six aspects: (1) the quality and comprehensiveness of its research questions and literature review, (2) the quality and rigor of its conceptual development, specification of underlying assumptions,  derivation of hypotheses and propositions, and operationalization of variables, (3) the appropriateness and creativity of its overall research design, sample, and site selections, (4) the comprehensiveness of its data gathering methods and measurement techniques, (5) the appropriateness and effectiveness of its data analysis techniques, and (6) the impact of its findings on the area of new enterprise development, to determine its overall quality, innovativeness, effectiveness, and comprehensiveness as a research work. The summary should also address the novelty and importance of the dissertation’s implications for practice. 

All three documents should be typed single-spaced with double spacing between paragraphs on 8.5 by 11-inch paper in 12 point New Times Roman font with 1 inch margins all around.


Submissions should be sent electronically no later than 5:00 pm, Eastern Standard Time (UTC -5 hours), January 17, 2022 to April Franco at aomentaprilmfranco@gmail.com


Authors can submit their work for consideration for only one of the ENT Division’s dissertation awards. Thus, those who submit for the Heizer Award cannot also be eligible for the National Federation of Independent (NFIB) Doctoral Dissertation Award and vice versa. It is the submitter’s responsibility to submit to the Award which best fits the nominated work.