Foundational Paper Award

Committee Chair

Sophie Bacq

Foundational Paper Award 2022: Call for Nominations

Dear ENT members:

Nominations are being accepted for the 2022 Foundational Paper Award. This award is given annually for a paper that has had a lasting and positive influence on the field of entrepreneurship. Please consider nominating one or more paper(s) for the award.

Award criteria

The Foundational Paper Award recognizes a published paper that has significantly and positively changed the conversation in the field of entrepreneurship research. For example, such a paper may have applied a concept or theory in entrepreneurship research in an especially meaningful way; or empirically investigated an important question in a novel way to better clarify or reveal the truth regarding a key concept; or in any way changed the boundaries of the domain of entrepreneurship. To be eligible for this award, the author must be living. Generally, too, foundational papers will have been published for at least 10 years (i.e., prior to 2012). A list of past winners can be found on the ENT Division website, at


Papers nominated during the prior year (2021) will automatically be considered for the award during the current year (2022) as well. However, papers nominated more than one year prior must be re-nominated to be reconsidered.

Award process & background

The Research Committee of the Entrepreneurship Division will review all nominations and determine awards in accordance with the above criteria. Winners will be announced when the award is presented in August at the annual meeting of the Academy of Management in Seattle.

How to nominate a paper:

Send an email to Sophie Bacq, Chair of the Awards Committee at The due date for all submissions is May 23, 2022. For full consideration, the email should include the following information:

1. The nominated paper. Please include the title, the author(s), and the journal in which it was published.

2. Your name. Please include your name in your email, in case we need to contact you for any clarification.

3. A short nominating statement. Include a short statement (up to 200 words) explaining why the paper merits this award.

Thank you.


Sophie Bacq

Awards Committee Chair
Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management

Award Winners

2020 2020 Ted Baker (Rutgers University and The University of Cape Town) & Reed Nelson (University of Louisiana, Lafayette) for “Creating something from nothing: Resource construction through entrepreneurial bricolage” published in 2005 in Administrative Science Quarterly.
2019 2019 Sharon Alvarez (University of Pittsburgh) & Jay B. Barney (University of Utah) for "The Discovery-creation: Alternative Theories of Entrepreneurial Action" published in 2007 in Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal.
2018 Jeffery S. McMullen (Indiana University) & Dean A. Shepherd (Notre Dame University) for "Entrepreneurial Action and the Role of Uncertainty in the Theory of the Entrepreneur" published in 2006 in Academy of Management Review.
2017 Saras D Sarasvathy for “Causation and Effectuation: Toward a Theoretical Shift from Economic Inevitability to Entrepreneurial Contingency” published in 2001 in the Academy of Management Review.
2016 Jeffrey G Covin and Dennis P Slevin for “Strategic management of small firms in hostile and benign environments” published in 1989 in the Strategic Management Journal.
2015 Benjamin Oviatt and Patricia McDougal for "Toward a Theory of International New Ventures" published in 1994 in Journal of International Business Studies.
2014 William J. Baumol for “Entrepreneurship: Productive, unproductive and destructive” published in 1996 in Journal of Business Venturing.
2013 Jerome Katz and William B. Gartner for “Properties of emerging organizations” published in 1988 in Academy of Management Review.
2012 Javier Gimeno, Tim Folta, Arnold Cooper and Carolyn Woo for “Survival of the fittest: Entrepreneurial human capital and the persistence of underperforming firms” published in 1997 in Administrative Science Quarterly.
2011 Scott Shane (Case Western Reserve University) for “Prior knowledge and the discovery of entrepreneurial opportunities” published in 2000 in Organization Science.
2010 No award
2009 Howard Aldrich (U. of North Carolina) and C. Marlena Fiol (U. of Colorado, Denver) for “Fools rush in: The institutional context of industry creation”, published in 1994 in Academy of Management Review.

Tom Lumpkin (Syracuse U.) and Greg Dess (U. of Texas, Dallas) for “Clarifying the entrepreneurial orientation construct and linking it to performance,” published in 1996 in Academy of Management Review.
2008 S. Venkataraman (U. of Virginia) for “The distinctive domain of entrepreneurship research,” published in 1997 in Advances in Entrepreneurship, Firm Emergence and Growth, Volume 3.