Entrepreneurship Practice Award

Entrepreneurship Practice Award 2024: Call for Nominations (due April 30, 2024)

Nominations are invited for the 2024 Entrepreneurship Practice Award. This award recognizes contributions directly relevant to the practice of entrepreneurship, in any of three categories, and is a complement to the current set of awards offered by the Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management (AOM). 

Award Criteria

The Award will be granted to individuals who have contributed to the practice of entrepreneurship in any one of the following categories:

  1. Contribution to scholarship practice: Authored a publication (for example, a published book or article) deemed to have been especially effective at advancing the practice of entrepreneurship, The criteria include, but are not limited to, the quality of the publication evidence of impact on publications (including citations in both scholarly and mainstream publications and media), impact on the legislative process (local or federal), and influence on entrepreneurship practice in the field.
  2. Contribution to field experience: Developed a significant educational project or program designed to bridge the gap between scholarship and practice.  This could be within a degree curriculum, co-curricular or extra-curricular. Submissions should describe the initiative, its objectives, its implementation and results.  Criteria include: the targeted audience, the originality of the program, its impact on its target community.  External validation of the results will be given significant weight.
  3. Contribution to community: Led a successful initiative to support the development of entrepreneurship in a specific community. Criteria include, the needs of the community, the degree of innovation of in the initiative, measures of success, impact on the community, external awards and endorsements.

While multiple individuals can be nominated for an Award, at least one member of the group must be a current member of the Academy of Management.

How to Nominate a Candidate:

Send an email to Ken Grant, the Chair of the Entrepreneurship Division's Practitioner-Scholars Committee, (kagrant@torontomu.ca) by April 30th, 2024

The complete nomination should be contained in a PDF or MS Doc file.

Applications should be no more than 1,000 words, excluding supporting documentation, and should include:

  1. The name and contact information of nominator(s)
  2. The name(s) and contact information of the individual(s) being nominated
  3. The primary category of the contribution
  4. An explanation of the nominee’s role and work in the contribution
  5. An explanation of how the work addresses the criteria for the award.

Self-nominations are acceptable, as are nominations from members of the AOM community – a nominee does not need to be a member of the ENT division but should be a member of AOM. 

Award Review Process

A special committee convened by the Chair of the Entrepreneur Practitioner-Scholars Committee of the Entrepreneurship Division will review all nominations and determine awards in accordance with the above criteria. The committee will include people with expertise in both scholarship and practice. Winners will be announced when the award is presented in August at the annual meeting of the Academy of Management in Chicago.

Award Winners

2023 Michael H. Morris (University of Notre Dame) for “Urban Poverty and Business Initiative.”

2022 Betsy Campbell (Penn State University) for “The Cape, Community Advancing Pluralism in Entrepreneurship."

2019-2021 No Award 

2018 Richard Harrison (University of Edinburgh) & Colin Mason (University of Glasgow) for "Stimulating the Supply of and Demand for Business Angel Finance in the UK Since 1991.”

2017 Michael H Morris (University of Florida), Xaver Neumeyer (University of North Dakota) and Donald F Kuratko (Indiana University) for “A Portfolio Perspective on Entrepreneurship and Economic Development.”

2016 Dawn R DeTienne (Colorado State University) and Melissa S Cardon (Pace University) for “Impact of founder experience on exit intentions.”

2015 No award

2014 Noam Wasserman (Harvard Business School) for “The Founder's Dilemmas.”

Committee Chair

Ken Grant