Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award 2021: Call for Nominations (Due: June 6, 2021)

Dear Colleagues:

Nominations are being accepted for the Entrepreneurship Division’s 2021 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award. This award honors those who have exhibited long-term and exceptional activities that have significantly advanced the development and/or visibility of the entrepreneurship field. Specifically, the award recognizes activities that significantly advance either: 1) the research, teaching, or practice of entrepreneurship, or 2) the growth, visibility, and effectiveness of the Entrepreneurship Division.  

The nomination process and selection criteria are provided below. Please consider submitting a nomination for the Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award. The deadline for receiving applications is June 6, 2021.

Selection Criteria

Those eligible for the Award shall be either individuals or organizations that have significantly contributed to the advancement of the field of entrepreneurship in one or more of the following ways. No prioritization of contributions is implied in the following list: 

  1. Developed or enhanced the professionalism, impact or effectiveness of the Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management; AND/OR 

  2. Increased the visibility and development of entrepreneurship in the broader society; AND/OR

  3. Improved effective communication and collaboration among entrepreneurship researchers, public policy makers and/or practitioner; AND/OR

  4. Significantly advanced the research, teaching, and/or practice of entrepreneurship in multiple ways through their career. 
Candidates for the Award will be evaluated according to the relative degree to which they have, throughout their careers or to an exceptional scale, engaged in one or more of the activities described above.

Selection Process

Nominations for the award will be reviewed in accordance with the above criteria by a special committee convened by the Past Chair of the Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management. Winner will be announced in late June (or early July) and the award will be presented with a plaque in August at the annual meeting of the Academy of Management. As in all award categories, the Division reserves the right to not confer an award if adjudicators determine that no award is warranted in a given year. Nominations received in a given year that do not result in an award will automatically be considered for the award in the following year’s review cycle as well. However, nominations that do not result in an award for two consecutive years must be re-nominated to be considered again. Re-nominations are welcome, provided they are accompanied by up-to-date documentation.

Nomination Requirements

To nominate an individual for the Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award, a complete packet of supporting documentation should be submitted to Dawn R. DeTienne ( no later than Sunday, June 6, 2021. The complete packet must include:

1. A letter of nomination that identifies the candidate, the individual(s) making the nomination, and lists the supporting documentation included.
2. A copy of the candidate’s Curriculum Vita, if the nominee is an individual.
3. A detailed listing of the candidate’s activities that are relevant to the award criteria, with a statement of how the activities relate to one or more of the criteria above.

Whether or not the packet materials are obtained directly from the candidate, it is the responsibility of the person(s) writing the nomination letter to ensure that the nomination package is complete.

Previous Winners

(note that three types of awards have been consolidated since 2012 under the “Dedication” title)



Charles Hofer

1989 Outstanding Contributions Award

Ned Heizer

1992 Advocacy Award

Karl Vesper

1993 Advocacy Award

Price-Babson Fellows

1994 Advocacy Award

Coleman Foundation

1995 Advocacy Award

Jerry Katz

Elizabeth Gatewood

1995 Extraordinary Service Award

1996 Advocacy Award

Donald Sexton

1997 Advocacy Award

Gerald Hills

1998 Advocacy Award

Charles Hofer

1999 Advocacy Award

Kauffman Center

2000 Advocacy Award

George Solomon

2001 Advocacy Award

Max Wortman

2005 Advocacy Award

Denny Dennis

2006 Advocacy Award

Donald Kuratko

2007 Advocacy Award

Charles Hofer

2007 Extraordinary Service Award

Timothy Reed

2007 Extraordinary Service Award

Kelly Shaver

2007 Extraordinary Service Award

Paul D. Reynolds

2012 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

D. Ray Bagby

2013 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

Michael H. Morris

2014 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

Candida Brush

2016 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

Michael Frese

2016 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

William Gartner

2016 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

Dean A. Shepherd

2017 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award

Norris Krueger

2020 Dedication to Entrepreneurship Award



Dawn R. DeTienne
ENT Past Division Chair

Committee Members

Dawn R. DeTienne (ENT Past Division Chair)