Discussion: View Thread

Innovation: Organization & Management update/editorial meeting 18 Sept

  • 1.  Innovation: Organization & Management update/editorial meeting 18 Sept

    Posted 22 days ago

    Dear colleague,

    It's time for an update! We are very happy to share with you some news about "Innovation: Organization and Management". As you can see, we have been quite busy promoting the journal and publishing new articles.

    First of all, we would like to invite you to the Editorial Meeting on Friday 18 September 2020 at 15.00 BST (16.00 CEST/10.00 EDT/22.00 CST/07.00 PDT). (3pm London time). Please use this Zoom link: https://zoom.us/j/98270621276. Editorial board members, reviewers and friends of the journal are all welcome!

    Impact factor

    Our new impact factor is 2.962, which has almost doubled compared to last year. We are very proud that the journal is growing, both in quality of submissions and publications, as well as in number of submissions. For that, we are grateful to our Associate Editors, Editorial Board members, and reviewers! Keep the good work going! 

     AOM OMT Division Best Entrepreneurship paper award

    IOM is now sponsoring the OMT Division Best Entrepreneurship paper at the Academy of Management Meeting! The Best OMT Entrepreneurship Paper recognizes a paper in the scholarly program that advances understanding of entrepreneurship drawing on organization and management theory.

    Social media

    IOM now has a social media editor: Christine Moser, Assistant Professor of Organization Sciences at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Christine has ample experience with social media and has already made a start on finetuning the journal's social media presence. Aside from our Twitter profile, we now also have a LinkedIn presence and a YouTube channel. Check it out and spread the word!

     Online first articles free-to-view for 30 days

    Our publisher Taylor & Francis now supports IOM by publishing online first articles free-to-view for 30 days. Check out our latest articles here! This makes IOM even more attractive as an outlet for cutting-edge research on innovation, organization theory and entrepreneurship because even if your institution does not sponsor open access publication, your work will still be freely accessible for a period of time. If you want to receive content alerts for online first articles, please sign up here.

     And of course, our editorial essays remain accessible indefinitely. Here's the latest one by Brian Kavanagh, Markus Perkmann and Nelson Phillips on the collective identity of symphony orchestras. 

     New publications

    The mission of IOM is to publish outstanding research on innovation within and across organizations. Here are a few highlights from the last 12 months:

    The unsustainable truth about the stage-gate new product innovation process

    Pratima (Tima) Bansal & Sylvia Grewatsch

     Quo Vadis, open and user innovation theory?

    Oliver Alexy, Lars Frederiksen & Katja Hutter

     Culture, innovation and entrepreneurship

    Michael Lounsbury, Joep Cornelissen, Nina Granqvist & Stine Grodal

     Giving ideas that won't get rejected: how personal identity relates to idea-taking in creative collaboration

    Kimberly Elsbach

     A simulation-based approach to business model design and organizational change

    Adam J. Bock , Massimo Warglien & Gerard George

     Beyond the lean start-up: experimentation in corporate entrepreneurship and innovation

    Christian Hampel, Markus Perkmann & Nelson Phillips

     Special issues

    In 2020, we have published a very successful special issue on open and user innovation with already almost 2,000 downloads. Another special issue on digital innovation is currently under way. The next one will be on experimentation for innovation, the deadline for submissions is 15 September 2020. If you would like to suggest a special issue or have an idea for a great special issue topic, please don't hesitate to contact Markus or Nelson.

    Again, thank you for your hard work! Please don't forget to keep your reviewer profile updated, particularly by providing key words for your subjects of interest. If you don't want to receive further messages from IOM (max. 2 a year), please reply to this email with "unsubscribe" in the subject line.

    Thank you for sending you work to IOM and for reviewing over the past few years; we appreciate it very much!

     

    Markus Perkmann, editor-in-chief

    Nelson Phillips, editor-in-chief

    Christine Moser, social media editor



    ------------------------------
    Christine Moser
    Assistant Professor
    Vrije U. Amsterdam
    ------------------------------