Discussion: View Thread

SMS Session 1637: Strategy Making in Entrepreneurial Ventures

  • 1.  SMS Session 1637: Strategy Making in Entrepreneurial Ventures

    Posted 12 days ago

    Please join me and our panelists for a discussion on Strategy Making in Entrepreneurial Ventures. This panel is part of the entrepreneurship and strategy IG and takes place this Monday – only a few days away.

     

    October 19, 2020. 16:30 – 17:30 UTC, 12:30 EDT, 9:30 Pacific

    Session 1637: Strategy Making in Entrepreneurial Ventures

     

    In this interactive session, panelists will discuss their cutting edge research on entrepreneurial strategy formation. Entrepreneurial strategy is first-and-foremost strategy under uncertainty; and conversely, strategy under uncertainty is in essence entrepreneurial as it involves either discovery, or creation, or a combination of the two. We will consider how entrepreneurial founders' backgrounds shape exploration for ideas, and how initial search decisions influence markets and ultimately arenas where firms play. But, successful consumer acquisition does not always translate to firm success. Our panelists thus consider how successful entrepreneurs craft strategies that not only create and capture value under uncertainty, but also protect against competitive threats. They will also debate whether entrepreneurial ventures should adopt generic entrepreneurial strategies or craft unique ones. Overall, our lively conversation aims to explore ongoing research on strategy formation under uncertainty, and lay out an exciting research agenda for the future.

    Panelists:
    Marc Gruber - Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne
    Kathleen Eisenhardt - Stanford University
    Scott Stern - MIT Sloan School of Management

     

    Moderator/Organizer

    Susan Cohen – University of Georgia

     

     

    Susan Cohen

    Assistant Professor of Management

    Terry College of Business

    University of Georgia